Golf Compendium Your Free Compendium of Golf Information

Home > Pro Golf Tours > PGA Tour > All American Open

All American Open


The All American Open was a golf tournament on the PGA Tour that ran through most of the 1940s and 1950s. In its day, it was one of the prestige tournaments on the U.S. pro circuit. That's visible in its impressive list of champions.

First played: 1941

Last played: 1957

Also known as: Tam O'Shanter Open

Winners of the All American Open
1957 - Roberto DeVicenzo
1956 - Dutch Harrison
1955 - Doug Ford
1954 - Jerry Barber
1953 - Lloyd Mangrum
1952 - Sam Snead
1951 - Cary Middlecoff
1950 - Bobby Locke
1949 - Lloyd Mangrum
1948 - Lloyd Mangrum
1947 - Bobby Locke
1946 - Herman Barron
1945 - Byron Nelson
1944 - Byron Nelson
1943 - Jug McSpaden
1942 - Byron Nelson
1941 - Byron Nelson

Golf Courses: The tournament was played at the Tam O'Shanter Country Club in Niles, Ill., a northeastern bedroom community of Chicago. The tournament was sometimes referred to as the Tam O'Shanter Open.



Pro Golfers

Major Championships

Pro Golf Tours

Rules of Golf


Thanks for visiting - all original content ©
Please report broken links/video: Contact