Golf Compendium Your Free Compendium of Golf Information

Home > Major Championships > British Open Winners > 1961 British Open

1961 British Open


The 1961 British Open was the 90th time the tournament was played.

Winner: Arnold Palmer, 284

Where it was played: Royal Birkdale Golf Club in Southport, England

Tournament dates: July 12-15, 1961

Leader after first round: Dai Rees, Harold Henning and Kel Nagle, 68

Leader after second round: Dai Rees and Harold Henning, 142

Leader after third round: Arnold Palmer, 212

Notable Notes: One year after making his British Open debut, Arnold Palmer scored his first victory in golf's oldest tournament. Welshman Dai Rees had a share of the lead the first two days, but Palmer's third-round 69 moved him one stroke in front. That was the final winning margin, Palmer by one over Rees.

Final Scores
Arnold Palmer 70-73-69-72--284
Dai Rees 68-74-71-72--285
Neil Coles 70-77-69-72--288
Christy O'Connor 71-77-67-73--288
Eric Brown 73-76-70-70--289
Kel Nagle 68-75-75-71--289
Peter Thomson 75-72-70-73--290
Ken Bousfield 71-77-75-68--291
Peter Alliss 73-75-72-71--291
Syd Scott 76-75-71-71--293
Harold Henning 68-74-75-76--293
Ramon Sota 71-76-72-76--295
Tony Coop 71-79-73-74--297
Miguel Angel Martin 73-79-74-72--298
Reg Knight 71-80-73-74--298
Sebastian Miguel 71-80-70-77--298
a-Norman Johnson 69-80-70-79--298
Paul Runyan 75-77-75-72--299
Denis Hutchinson 72-80-74-73--299
John Jacobs 71-79-76-74--300
Harry Bradshaw 73-75-78-74--300
Peter Butler 72-76-78-74--300
Dave Thomas 71-77-77-75--300
Lionel Platts 70-80-71-79--300
a-Ralph Moffitt 73-80-73-75--301
Jean Garaialde 69-81-76-75--301
Brian Huggett 72-77-75-77--301
Eric Lester 71-77-75-78--301
David Miller 69-79-80-74--302
George Will 74-75-75-78--302
Brian Wilkes 72-76-77-78--303
Guy Wolstenholme 72-80-77-75--304
Henry Cotton 76-77-74-77--304
John Panton 73-78-75-78--304
Bill McHardy 76-76-76-77--305
James Henderson 72-78-77-78--305
Sam King 70-77-79-79--305
Eric Green 75-78-77-76--306
a-Ronald White 71-79-80-76--306
a-George Low 76-76-76-78--306
David Snell 72-81-77-77--307
Frank Phillips 74-79-76-78--307
Tom Haliburton 74-79-76-78--307
Fred Boobyer 74-79-81-74--308
a-Martin Christmas 71-79-79-79--308
Willian Branch 77-76-78-78--309
Christy Greene 77-76-78-78--309

Related pages:
British Open winners
U.S. Open winners
Masters winners



Pro Golfers

Major Championships

Pro Golf Tours

Rules of Golf


Thanks for visiting - all original content ©
Please report broken links/video: Contact